Notes on a Dream
Now Available
The Road Home
Now Available

Go Back   Jordan Rudess' Community Forums > Online Keyboard Community > Gear Talk
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

studio or extreme?
  #1  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:15 AM
enry_xv88 Offline
Keyboard Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Castelfranco E., Modena, ITALY
Posts: 30
Send a message via MSN to enry_xv88
Default studio or extreme?

I'd like to replace my TS 61 with a TE 61...
but someone said the STUDIO SOUNDS BETTER than extreme, for the better quality of D/A convertors...

is it true? thanks a lot..
Reply With Quote
 

  #2  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:54 AM
Axe2Grind Offline
Keyboard Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 873
Default

I've read a Sound on Sound review that said that the Triton Studio is effectively the top of the line triton as it has a fair few processing tools and sequencing tools, better sound quality (apparently) which the Extreme does not have, not to mention the built in CDRW (if you have that option)...But you do get a larger rom set of samples, the Tube and USB connections. I also thought the Extreme was very very similar sounding to the TS so I think you'll be wasting your money if you think you're gonna get a completely new instrument from the TS you already have. But the best thing to do is go to your local music shop and try an extreme out and see if you'll be getting any functions that you must have...I've played both a fair bit and they both sounded pretty much the same to my ears, almost identical on some patches.
Reply With Quote
 

  #3  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:32 AM
Deceit's Avatar
Deceit Offline
Keyboard Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bologna, IT
Posts: 610
Send a message via MSN to Deceit
Default

They're both great boards...yeah, basically it's up to you. I'd definitely go for a Triton Extreme if I had the possibility...well, if you have a Triton Studio, it isn't a priority anyway...if you have to spend $200 more than what you get from the TS sale, well, just keep the TS and buy a MIC200 to route your signal into the tube :). Or save money for another board or a good weighted midi controller (Oberheim MC2000 is a must :D).
Deceit.
Reply With Quote
 

  #4  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:55 AM
GregC Offline
Keyboard Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dublin, California
Posts: 50
Default

I have seen that conjecture on Irish Acts, too

The Extreme does have the Studio ROM set plus it has all that extra ROM plus tube. Plus Korg did revoice some or many of the multi samples.
Plus Korg tuned up the volume on many of the programs.

One would have to carefully A/B the Extreme's Studio ROM programs/combi's ( keep the tube off) to the same Studio programs/combi's.

That would be a lot of work to identify IF there was a difference
with ' all ' or some of the programs/combi's and WHAT the difference is.
I am skeptical of the conjecture until someone breaks it down.

Or until we see the official Korg response on D/A converters.
__________________
GregC
Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extreme v.s. studio chococow764 Gear Talk 11 03-09-2005 10:12 AM
home studio mon speakers: Yamaha NS-10M ? jamnbread Gear Talk 6 12-30-2004 02:23 PM
4 more days for my Extreme 88 The Kibodis Gear Talk 8 10-25-2004 12:37 AM
Thinking Of Buying Studio Monitors...... Rofellos Gear Talk 7 07-27-2004 01:21 PM
Let's Build a Studio!!! whitelightening Gear Talk 10 10-13-2003 11:18 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
top of page