PDA

View Full Version : Ebay Question!!!


jacksmash
01-29-2004, 07:40 PM
Hey everyone,

I've decided that I would like to save up for a Triton Studio 88. I've been looking on ebay to see if anyone sells them, and of course there are people who do.
In the last week or so I've seen people list there's at around $999 US.
What is up with that? Is it too good to be true? I find it interesting that nobody bids on these ones. Others that are above $3000 keep getting more bidders.

Can anyone give me some kind of explanation? I would love to pay $1000 for a Triton Studio, but it seems too risky to me!!

Thanks!

Enigma™
01-29-2004, 08:12 PM
That's not the final bid dude - A TONNE of auctions never make it to their "prime" or what the bidder is looking for. (called their reserve)

Anyway, just because it's only 999$ NOW, doesn't mean it'll be that cheap in like, 3 days.
Just keep an eye on it, that's why it's an auction :)

jacksmash
01-29-2004, 08:18 PM
Sorry, I made a mistake in my previous post. The buy it now is at 999 US, the opening bid is at $15 US. I've seen stuff like this a couple times.
Now what do you think?!? :)

Enigma™
01-29-2004, 08:18 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3700642719&category=38 089

See??

Enigma™
01-29-2004, 08:18 PM
oh
... SET ME UP WITH A LINK!!!

lol

Enigma™
01-29-2004, 08:21 PM
"This listing is restricted to pre-approved bidders or buyers only"

This could be part of the reason..

jacksmash
01-29-2004, 08:30 PM
So you don't think there's anything fishy about it?

Enigma™
01-29-2004, 09:13 PM
Very doubtful - Check their rating, etc..
The thing is that they're looking for approved rated bidders as well so they don't get screwed either.

Arkaitz
01-30-2004, 01:52 AM
Hi,

DON'T BUY IT!! :!: :!: :!:

I had a very bad experience before purchasing my K2600XS.

I was looking for a 88 key workstation, and as here in Europe Kurzweil is very expensive I searched in Ebay. I found a seller that was selling 10 Triton Studio 88 at $1200 each one.

I contacted with him and he told me that he preferred to sell it out of Ebay. I accepted and dealed with him to send the half of the amount by Western Union.

Finally it was a scam and I lost about $900. So, be aware with this kind of auctions.

Arkaitz.

jacksmash
01-30-2004, 05:37 AM
Thank you so much for the heads up!! There's no way I would deal outside of Ebay anyways. But thanks for the info.

jacksmash
01-30-2004, 09:12 PM
Ends up that this is most likely a scam. The guy will not honor the PayPal payment method as stated on the item listing. He will only accept a wire transfer and will not complete the transaction through Ebay.

This really bugs me.